Authentic travel is about being present, wherever you are. Recently I used the colour purple to help do this in my own neighbourhood, following it up side streets I usually ignored.  See where it led… and consider your own colour-based walk.

In an earlier blog giving  Five Tips for Travelling Like a Local (read it here ), I mentioned that I was a fan of Keri Smith’s The Wander Society (for her website, click here ).  She recommends  taking a walk where you look for one type of thing- perhaps a colour or shape, and then document it.  A few days ago, I decided to take a purple walk through my own neighbourhood in Vic West.  Spring would have been a better time for this (and I cheated by using two  Spring pictures, rather than recent ones).  Still, it definitely got me appreciating what was otherwise a routine landscape in a new way.

The results, for your viewing pleasure:

2 thoughts on “Purple Presence

Comments are closed.